A Tale of Two Chickens

28 Jan

On Wednesday night, I decided to make a roast chicken, fennel mashed potatoes and crisp broccoli for a snowy evening meal. Everything was grooving until I took the chicken out of the oven and parts of it were still raw.

Ugh, poultry! Why must you be cooked all the way through?? I should have served a nice bloody steak (sorry vegans) and my meal would have been perfect. Oh well.

Since I had invited a few people over, I served the part of the chicken that was cooked, so classy I know, and put the rest of the bird back in the oven. We all got sidetracked by my roommate’s divine chocolate chip cookies, and when the chicken was finally finished there were no more mouths to feed.

Not wanting to waste part of an organic chicken, I decided to make stock.

After removing some of the meat, I stuck the partially devoured chicken, which was about 4 pounds, into a dutch oven. Added half an onion, a few celery stalks, a little carrot, all of which I luckily had in my fridge. Some thyme, a handful of salt, whole peppercorns, and covered the whole thing with water. Then, because I am a fat kid at heart, I added the pan drippings from the roast chicken into the pot. I cranked up the heat, let it boil, and then simmer for about an hour and a half.

Simmer me!

After the whole apartment, all 750 square feet of it, was perfumed with the fragrant smell of herbacious chicken broth, I took it off the stove and let it cool.

The next morning I strained the mixture, removing the chicken carcass, veggies, etc. That afternoon I started running a fever and came home early to make myself some chicken soup and crawl in bed. Thank goodness I had the foresight to serve raw chicken and then make a stock!

To the stock I added pre-made mirepoix from trader joes (the best thing ever),  pieces of leftover chicken and some noodles, turned up the heat and voila.

What a delight!

Ina Garten is always bitching and moaning about making your own chicken stock, but I never felt like I had the time or the energy to do it. Plus the pre-made stuff tasted just as good, right?? Never again. I wish I had a photo of the final product but unfortunately for my millions of readers, I ate it all before I had a chance to snap a picture.

I can’t wait until my next failed poultry effort so I can make more delicious chicken stock!

One Response to “A Tale of Two Chickens”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Went Vegan for Oprah « SpiffyNiffy - February 8, 2011

    […] did not exactly start on the right (tofu)foot. I had a friend in town during the weekend and decided to roast us a chicken before a particularly dance fueled evening at Vegas Lounge. Naturally I used the remaining chicken […]

Leave a Reply

