Bells of the Ball

4 Feb

I have a confession to make – Until very recently I only owned one pair of jeans. Day after day I found myself reaching for the same pair, until one day I reached for something and they split up the back…eek, time for a replacement!

Since then I have been repeating my habit and wearing the same Current Elliot jeans for over a year. Skinny, with a little bit of stretch but NOT a jegging, they are everything I need.

Until this fall when I noticed all spring runways were showing wide leg jeans, and I began lusting after seventies inspired bell bottoms.

It didn’t help that EmersonMade landed on my radar and my desire for bell bottoms was solidified.

I'm seething with jealousy!

Doesn’t she look so fresh?! I ordered a pair, hoping to get the “ass that my mother had” as advertised on the website.

The only problem was when they arrived, I could not get them over my tush. Guess my mother had a smaller ass than I did. Back they went!

I had heard about another brand, Mother jeans that also offered the retro styling of the seventies, but I could not find them anywhere.

Just struttin' my stuff in front of a rose wall, the usual

 

What is it about this style and the longing to look like our mothers? My mom wears Not Your Daughter’s Jeans and there is the often maligned “mom jeans” ridiculed on SNL. Maybe I should create a denim line called Mommy Dearest, I bet I could make bank preying on everyone’s mommy issues.

Anyway, I finally found the perfect replacement pair on Gilt of all places (I fear Gilt since they charge for shipping and returns are for store credit only, a cardinal no-no in my book.)

They are the J Brand Juliette, slightly narrower than a bell bottom, they fit perfectly and I can’t wait to tuck in a little white t-shirt and embrace my inner flower child.

WhoWhatWear recently had a great rundown of the trend and a few options on where to buy.

Click the link to purchase a pair

This is definitely one of the major spring trends, with almost all retailers pushing a more relaxed wider leg. Piperlime has a ton of offerings, as does old standby Shopbop. The only bit of caution I have is that these jeans require heels and also might not work on super petite chicas.

It also takes some getting used to all that extra fabric, after years of sausage-cased skinny jeans it’s strange to suddenly feel a breeze by your ankles.

Leave a Reply

