The Big Easy – Eat, Drink, Sleep

24 Feb

I just got back from an amazing trip to New Orleans with my boyfriend filled with food, food, food and some other stuff.

Just kidding, the other stuff was equally as good as the food, and included tours of the Garden District and Ninth Ward, drinks with friends and music on Frenchmen street. All in all a fantastic trip, and I urge anyone who has not been to Nola to head on down to the crescent city ASAP.

Gorgeous home in the French Quarter

Part of the reason our trip was so spectacular is because we tapped the local knowledge of a few of our friends, who pointed us in the direction of off the beaten path places and activities not found in any guidebook.

Thanks Vann and Lillian!

On Dauphine Street with my girl Lillian

Dancing at the Blue Nile

Impromptu show on Frenchmen street

The Lowdown:

Slept

We stayed at the W French Quarter on Chartres street, two blocks away from Bourbon street. It had a lovely courtyard, attentive staff, and was in an ideal location. We didn’t spend a ton of time in the hotel since this is New Orleans, not  Detroit, but I would definitely recommend staying there.

Devoured/Imbibed

I love southern food and so for me this trip was absolute heaven. In addition to mind blowing meals, the mixologists in New Orleans made so many delicious drinks, I plied myself with cocktails far better than the typical handgrenades found on Bourbon street.

Everything was phenomenal but here are a few standouts:

Cafe Du Monde – Right by the French Market, beloved by tourists and locals alike, the beignets are out of this world. We stopped there late one night and I could barely snap a photo before they were gone.

Dough pillows sprinkled with sugar at Cafe Du Monde

Three Muses – Southern tapas on Frenchmen Street, live music, great bar and no reservations. Get the duck cannelloni and the pork belly, then send me a photo so I can salivate over it.

Green Goddess – Southern/continental fare, very small restaurant tucked on a side street in the quarter. Favorite of locals, sit at the bar if you can and listen to the bartender’s stories.

The Joint – Barbecue place that is quite literally a joint across the street from a power plant in the Bywater neighborhood. Best bbq I ever had, and although my eyes were bigger than my stomach when I ordered a pulled pork sandwich and a side of ribs, I did manage to save room for some outstanding key lime pie.

Bar Tonique – Bar serving handcrafted cocktails, wine and beer on the edge of the French Quarter. We grabbed a drink there before heading to dinner at Bayona, a popular spot run by chef Susan Spicer. Bar Tonique was dark, intimate and had delicious drinks expertly imagined by the bartenders. I particularly enjoyed their take on the Pimms Cup, which the bartender generously shared with me.

Interior at Bar Tonique

Bar Tonique Pimms Cup
2 orange slices, 3 lemon slices, 3 lime slices, muddled
Add 1 oz simple syrup, 2 oz Pimms
Shake, stir over ice and finish with soda

Stay tuned for upcoming posts later this week on shopping in the Big Easy and sightseeing in some of the most famous neighborhoods

5 Responses to “The Big Easy – Eat, Drink, Sleep”

  1. lolabees February 24, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Thanks for the tips! Heading down soon, and I’m always looking for different restaurants in town! Those beignets look amazing!!!!

    • niffyspector February 25, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Head to Three Muses, trust me you will not be disappointed, incredible food.

  2. cekrug2 February 25, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Dont knock Detroit.

    • niffyspector February 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      I meant the weather…I hear the people are lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Big Easy – Ninth Ward and Garden District « SpiffyNiffy - March 1, 2011

    […] Feb I have already hyped up the food and the shopping of New Orleans, but I saved the best for last. By far my favorite part of our trip […]

Leave a Reply

