Honey Nutmeg Ice Cream

6 Apr

I have been neglecting my ice cream maker in lieu of my pasta maker, but now that the weather is cooperating I decided to dust off the old Cuisinart. Since its still the early days of spring, I wanted to make something that expressed the transition from one season to the next, and thought a honey nutmeg blend would do the trick.

Honey nutmeg ice cream topped with walnuts

To make the ice cream I followed David Lebovitz’s ice cream recipe, but then went off on my own tangent.  I had tried making a honey-based ice cream before and I experienced difficulty getting the custard mixture to freeze into ice cream. I think my problem was that it was an apples and honey mixture (it was Rosh Hashana, duh) and the apples somehow impeded the freezing process.

This time my ice cream did freeze, although the consistency was softer than usual. A quick search on the web uncovered that many people have had this problem when using a honey base, but the outcome was delicious and I will keep experimenting with new honey pairings.

Start with warm milk and sugar, lightly beaten egg yolks and cream incorporated with honey

After all ingredients are combined, let custard cool and add nutmeg (and a dash of cinnamon)

After mixture is refridgerated overnight, its time to churn away!

After 30 minutes, a deliciously rich pint of ice cream

I hate to go all Ina Garten on you, but when making homemade I have found a big difference when using “good” products vs. grocery store buys. I buy my milk and eggs at the farmer’s market near my apartment (yuppie!) and the milk is so thick it is almost like heavy cream. The only downside of this approach is that my pints of ice cream can cost upwards of $25 to make, depending on the ingredients I choose. But the flavor can’t be beat and it defintiely is a treat worth the price.

As summer approaches I have been thinking about making more ice cream, and maybe even trying to sell some of my concoctions. This is all just an effort to subsidize more ice cream making, but if I decide to commercialize my addiction I will let you all know!

5 Responses to “Honey Nutmeg Ice Cream”

  1. jc April 6, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    doesn’t going ina garten on us mean having high quality ingredients and ignoring kids with a wish!

  2. Elizabeth Spector April 6, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Question for Spiffy: Did you use whole nutmeg or pre-ground? I feel I know the answer to this (shudder) but I had to ask!

    • niffyspector April 6, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      I used ground nutmeg, I think even Ina would say that was ok!

  3. Latifah April 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Niffy!!!!! I’m so going to make this ice cream, maybe as a dessert to those spinach pasta rolls. Love the blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Supper Club « SpiffyNiffy - October 20, 2011

    […] Do prep work the day before and make things ahead including dessert. […]

Leave a Reply

